My attempt at clothes shopping

Source: forever21.com via Jenn on Pinterest

 

I shop once a year. Whenever we go overseas for a trip is when I shop. For about 3 years in a row in 2008-2010, I shop exclusively in Hong Kong. Even then I don’t buy a lot.

Looking back at my life for the past 3 years, when I started freelancing, I rarely go out. Just during meetings and some interviews in the past. And I realized I kept on wearing the same thing on interviews. Even when I was working at a regular office, I don’t dress up because we have a very laid back environment.

A couple of weeks ago, something clicked. I am starting to build a startup company and I realized I can’t dress the same. I never believed it, but there really is something empowering about dressing well. Dress to success! I don’t mean I’ll be uber fashionista, but just wearing something appropriate for meetings and occasions.

Anyway, I was at the Mall of Asia area yesterday for the Digital Influencers Marketing Summit so after the event I went ahead and window-shop. I’m so new at this that prices of particular items scared me. I set a budget for myself. I quickly realized that the budget I set will only buy 1 blazer (something I really want to buy) or 1 jeans/pants (the nice ones). So I thought, “Oookaay, I’m not going to increase my budget.” So with a heavy heart, I left the blazer and the jeans alone and went to get 2 nice tops. I really liked what I picked and it’s something I would never wear before. But this is a year of changes for me. Baby steps.

So I guess I’d be doing this every month now. šŸ™‚

About Jenn

I'm Jenn, a 28-year old web developer/newlywed living in Taguig City, Philippines. At the start of 2009, I weighed in at 187lbs. In May 2011, my boyfriend of almost 9 years proposed to me and we walked down the aisle in January of this year. With all the recent changes in my life, I would like to document my journey to become my fittest and healthiest self by the time I am 30.

Leave a Reply

